Dear La La Land,

Mike Munoz
Mike Drop
Published in
2 min readFeb 27, 2017

You really fucked me over last night.

After weeks of singing your praises and yelling at coworkers for not appreciating you enough, I put all of my eggs in your basket and you totally ended up costing me my Oscar pools this year.

Overall I picked you to win 9 awards last night thinking I was playing it pretty safe. With 14 nominations, that seemed like a pretty smart move, right?

Wrong.

You lost categories I desperately needed you to win like Best Original Screenplay and you won categories I needed you to lose like Cinematography and Best Original Song.

It’s not that I’m mad. I’m just disappointed.

I also thought that Best Picture was yours to lose, but we all know how that ended.

Oh, do you need a reminder? Because you literally had the trophy pulled from your hands because someone gave Warren Beatty the wrong envelope.

I know it must’ve hurt, but by that point you had so thoroughly screwed me in my pool I had a hard time feeling bad.

I’m sure one of these days I’ll be able to forgive you when I eventually buy you on Amazon, but I’m just going to need a little time to get over everything.

We could have had a magical night together, La La Land. I just wish things would have ended differently.

Sincerely,

-Mike

--

--