LEARN UX DESIGN

UX Case Study: Designing a Bike Share App in 5 Days

How to tackle a design challenge on a short timeline.

Mike Curtis
The You Design System
10 min readMay 4, 2017

--

When I was in high school, I was the king of procrastination. I left assignments, studying, and homework right up until the last minute. I did well in school though, graduating with a 3.8 GPA and never missing a day of school K-12. Somehow, I just made it work and I may have even perfected the art of procrastination back then.

While I survived that way growing up, I’ve recognized that putting things off as an adult just causes too many problems. This has especially rung true as a UX designer with deadlines, deliverables, and companies that won’t play around with lazy follow-thru.

As part of my recent interview process at a company, I was asked by their UX team to design an app for a bike-share service they wanted to launch. The catch? They gave five days to complete the design challenge and present it to their team. So much for procrastination!

In this case study, I’ll show how one might approach an app of this type and demonstrate how I think through problems. I’ll break away from my typical “case study” presentation and give this to you in a day-to-day format.

--

--

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

Senior UX Designer / New articles weekly on design & self-improvement / Helping you design the "UX of You" / 22+ years in design, marketing, & sales.