Designing for Mental Health & Well-being: The Role UX Plays in it All

Empowering minds through design — How we can craft digital experiences that nurture mental health and positivity.

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

--

Photo by Karolina G.

Hey there! I’m Mike Curtis, a Senior UX Designer, and writer, and I’ve been pondering the impact of technology on our mental health and well-being lately. Lately, I find myself caught up in the whirlwind of notifications, deadlines, and constant connectivity. It’s challenging, to say the least. As a result, I find myself avoiding genuine interactions, losing touch with what matters, and feeling immensely more stressed.

I don’t like this feeling, so I decided to write about it.

As designers, we hold a unique position to influence the experiences people have with the digital products they use every day. We can make a real difference in how these products affect their mental well-being. As I’ve been in this stressful situation with my own mental health, I decided to explore how UX can help promote positive mental health and reduce stress in people’s lives.

I want to explore the essential role that UX designers play in shaping our mental health landscape. We’ll also discuss actionable strategies to create more mindful, supportive digital experiences that show care for…

--

--

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

Senior UX Designer / New articles weekly on design & self-improvement / Helping you design the "UX of You" / 22+ years in design, marketing, & sales.