Go to the Store or Sit in the Chair? Prioritizing Moments That Matter

Your to-do lists can take a back seat.

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

--

a dad sitting in a recliner with his son
Create space for others to feel loved and valued.

As the first one to typically get up in our house, I love the early morning quiet. This is my sanctuary time, where I prepare for the day, write, and get things done before the kids wake up. This morning, I followed my usual routine with one extra task on my mind: a Walmart pickup order.

If I left early enough, I could beat the morning rush and home in time to help the kids get ready for school.

Just as I was about to leave, shoes on and about to stand up, my 5-year-old son appeared from his downstairs bedroom, rubbing his morning eyes at the top of the stairs. He saw me sitting on the chair, glanced at the TV, and then came over to me after grabbing the TV remote.

Priorities, right? Haha.

He then climbed into my lap and nestled himself there. With a sweet, endearing gesture, he gently grabbed my arm and wrapped it around the front of him. He sat there for a minute before turning on the TV, relishing his alone time with Dad.

And in his soft, little voice he said…

“I love you, Dad.”

At that moment, the Walmart pickup could wait. I knew it could wait. And yes, I’m not perfect…

--

--

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

Senior UX Designer / New articles weekly on design & self-improvement / Helping you design the "UX of You" / 22+ years in design, marketing, & sales.