DESIGN THE UX OF YOU

Life Lessons from a Sprained Ankle and a Bruised Ego

Every stumble has a lesson in it.

Mike Curtis
The You Design System
3 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Last night playing dodgeball, I ended up spraining my ankle pretty badly. It was one of those moments where you’re reminded how you’re not in control of everything that happens to you and how quickly things can go south — I simply wasn’t paying attention and I tripped over someone else’s foot. It’s been a while since I’ve had to deal with an inconvenience like this… but I’ve got my foot propped up today and I’m managing.

It made me realize life’s a bit like playing dodgeball in more ways than one. Turns out, there’s a lot you can learn from a sprained ankle and a bruised ego.

You can plan and strategize all you want, but sometimes, you just get blindsided by a curveball (or trip over someone’s foot).

One minute you’re dodging projectiles, thinking you have a plan, the next you’re on the ground writhing in pain. I had to decide at that moment how I was going to react. Get angry? Brush it off? This little mishap made me see the importance of being ready to adapt, not just in recreational games or work, but in life.

--

--

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

Senior UX Designer / New articles weekly on design & self-improvement / Helping you design the "UX of You" / 22+ years in design, marketing, & sales.