UX Case Study: Renew Your Contact Lens Prescription with Your Phone

Safely revolutionizing eye exams and the user experience.

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

--

Image provided by the author.

I’ve omitted confidential information in this case study. All information presented is my own and does not necessarily reflect the views of 1–800 Contacts. Protecting their privacy, processes, and customer data is my primary concern.

UX methodologies played a vital role in the design, development, and launch of the ability for consumers to renew their contact lens prescription using the 1–800 Contacts website and native apps.

This case study explores my process, responsibilities, and how team collaboration fueled the launch of this cutting-edge service. I was fortunate to be listed on the design patent as one of the inventors of ExpressExam (design patent pending).

My Role

Role: UX Designer
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, United States
Duration: May 2017 — December 2019

I was responsible for the customer journey, interaction design, wireframes, prototypes, micro-interactions, usability tests, and visual design for the native apps (iOS & Android) and responsive web (desktop & mobile web).

--

--

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

Senior UX Designer / New articles weekly on design & self-improvement / Helping you design the "UX of You" / 22+ years in design, marketing, & sales.