Sensing the Conflict Before the Crisis

Deepen your workplace understanding of emotional signals.

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

--

a son sitting with his elderly mom who is in a hospital bed

*** This story talks briefly about suicide. Help is available. Speak with someone today by calling or texting 988, available 24 hours a day.

It was 11:00 pm, and there I sat with my mom in the emergency room, listening to her describe to the doctor how she planned to end her life by suicide. Nothing can prepare you to be in this situation or hear those words from someone’s mouth. That was one of the longest nights I’ve ever spent in a hospital.

It was a normal evening until I called my mom to see if she wanted to come over and hang out with her grandkids. Her voice, usually warm and cheerful, sounded distant and hollow. Something was off. Trusting my gut, I decided to check on her. I found her in a scene I wasn’t prepared for, but it ultimately led us to get the help we needed at the emergency room.

That night of fear and feeling dreadfully scared remains etched in my memory for the powerful lesson it taught me about being attuned to the subtle signs of emotional distress in the people we love and work with.

Oh how vital it is to sense the early signs of emotional conflict before they escalate into a full-blown crisis!

--

--

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

Senior UX Designer / New articles weekly on design & self-improvement / Helping you design the "UX of You" / 22+ years in design, marketing, & sales.