THE YOU DESIGN SYSTEM

The type of UX mentoring that you desperately need, but likely aren’t hearing

A meta approach that digs right to the core of the problem.

Mike Curtis
The You Design System
4 min readMay 21, 2022

--

grayscale photo of a woman doing silent hand signal
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

I can teach you how to create a prototype. I can give you all you need to succeed with a design system. I can train you on how to build a customer journey map or wire up a prototype. But there’s something in the UX industry that I most certainly cannot do for you.

I can’t control how you experience yourself.

My UX mentoring sessions in the past used to focus mentees on the vital elements of getting them closer to the hire. I’d show them the blind spots in their work. I’d help them polish their portfolio, infuse impact statements into their resume, clean up their case studies, and point out ways they could add flare to their LinkedIn profile.

These are all good things — think of them as applying UX methods and activities to your job search or career strategy. But I started to notice a significant missing piece of the entire mentoring process.

I wasn’t helping them work on the UX of themselves.

It sounds so “meta”, doesn’t it? Almost stupid to even bring it up. To apply UX thinking to ourselves comes…

--

--

Mike Curtis
The You Design System

Senior UX Designer / New articles weekly on design & self-improvement / Helping you design the "UX of You" / 22+ years in design, marketing, & sales.