Widetober — Day 1

Mikeyboards
Mikeyboards Blog
Published in
3 min readOct 9, 2018

I wanted to switch things up a bit the other day, so I decided to put on my ultra-wide lens and hit the streets. I really enjoy using this lens, it’s great for architecture, landscapes, I use of for my videos and whenever I just want to make something look super groovy. What I don’t do is use the lens for general purpose streetery. Not really sure why, but it just always seemed too wide to use. Well that’s all about to change.

I set up a challenge for myself this month of October. I’m gonna keep the ultra-wide lens on all month and see what I come up with. And to really jazz up the challenge, I’m going to shoot in black and white as well. I’m calling this challenge, “Widetober”. It’s already a few days into October, so I hope you guys can forgive me. This is so far out of my element, I wouldn’t even be on the periodic table anymore.

I’ve shared my results of the first day in this here post. Follow along all month, or perhaps longer as I journey through Widetober and share all the shots here.

Paper.
I gotta slow it down.
Pulsating.
Closing time.
Woopsies.
Apparently, you can’t park in the driveway. But you can drive on the parkway.
These shots are fire.
Got water?
He likes to move it, move it. I like to capture it.

--

--

Mikeyboards
Mikeyboards Blog

NYC based photographer. You can find me wandering with with my camera and my dog. Find me on IG: https://www.instagram.com/mikeyboards