Mikey’s Ultimate Jukebox: Why Lindsey Buckingham Matters To Me

Michael Hersh
Mikey's Ultimate Jukebox
5 min readMay 29, 2018

He was the creative force that rejuvenated Fleetwood Mac when he and Stevie Nicks joined in the 70’s. He is proof that some things simply get better with age. He is an eccentric talent who has written some of the greatest songs in rock & roll history, even though he never learned how to read or write music. He is one of the most underrated guitarists whose hand plucking style has created a very beautiful signature sound. He recorded one of the greatest movie theme songs of all time from National Lampoon’s Vacation. He is now more on top of his game than he has even been before. Ladies and gentlemen… Lindsey Buckingham. And why he matters so much to me.

Band Members: N/A
Year Inducted: 2011
Years As A Fan: 21 Years (*1997)
Intro Song: Holiday Road
Top 500 Songs: Holiday Road, End Of Time, Down On Rodeo, Love Is Here To Stay
Addl. Key Songs: Go Insane, Seeds We Sow, Turn It On, Illumination, Did You Miss Me, Sleeping Around The Corner, That’s The Way Love Goes, In My World, Love Runs Deeper, The Right Place To Fade
Key Albums: Seeds We Sow, Under The Skin, Out Of The Cradle, Go Insane, That’s The Way Love Goes, Buckingham/McVie
Personal Music Awards: 2011 Album Of The Year (Seeds We Sow), 2017 Album Of The Year (Buckingham/McVie)
Seen Live: 3 Times 2009 w/Fleetwood Mac at MSG, 2011 Mayo Arts Center in Morristown, 2017 w/Christine McVie at Beacon Theatre
Photo Opp: N/A

Holiday Road (My Introduction to Lindsey Buckingham)

When I first got into Fleetwood Mac, it was obviously the beautiful ladies Stevie Nicks and Christine McVie that intrigued me first after witnessing their beauty in videos on MTV for Hold Me and Gypsy. Then as I learned more about the band and found out Fleetwood Mac’s name derived from Mick Fleetwood and John McVie, I assumed the drummer and bassist were most important. But it really was the last guy I would learn about who I discovered was the true talent in the group. Not only was Lindsay Buckingham the lead guitarist and key member of the band, he also recorded one of my favorite songs ever from a movie and I didn’t even realize it was the same guy until much later. The movie: National Lampoon’s Vacation. The song: Holiday Road. When Fleetwood Mac reunited for the legendary The Dance concert on MTV, I was blown away not just how cool Lindsey looked while playing his guitar, but also how talented the dude was. As I built up my collection of Fleetwood Mac albums for my music collection, I realized Lindsay’s songs were special such as Go Your Own Way, Never Going Back Again, Big Love, and Tusk. And then I got my hands on his 2006 solo album from a co-worker, and although it was completely different from Fleetwood Mac, I found true beauty in the songs. Especially one of the last tracks on the album, Down On Rodeo. I’d go back and get his first two solo albums, and then pick up each new one. His 2011 album, Seeds We Sow, featured Lindsey at his best and would earn my personal 2011 Album Of The Year. This guy was like a fine wine, getting better with age as he began to break out from what he called the “machine”, aka Fleetwood Mac.

I saw Lindsey Buckingham perform live for the first time at Madison Square Garden in 2009 as a member of Fleetwood Mac. The show was good, but perhaps the venue was just too big for the Fleetwood Mac sound. I was 100% in when I found out Lindsey was going to be in Morristown touring his Seeds We Sow album in 2011. It ended up being one of the best intimate live performances I ever witnessed. In 2017, Lindsey Buckingham finally collaborated with Christine McVie for a new album combining their talents. Once again, Lindsey Buckingham blew my mind with another great album which ended up earning Lindsey a second Mikey Hersh Album Of The Year. For a great value of $40, I went with my brother to see the both of them perform together at the Beacon Theatre in NYC. It ended up being one of the ten best concerts I ever been at.

God bless Youtube!: The greatness of Lindsey Buckingham performing Big Love from The Dance Concert Special

Lindsey Buckingham was just recently kicked out of the band. As Fleetwood Mac decided to go on tour again, due to some back and forth issues between Mick Fleetwood/Stevie Nicks and Lindsey, he was let go. This isn’t anything new as he and the band had their creative differences before in the 80’s and 90’s and he had left before. In all honesty, Lindsey Buckingham has blossomed on his own with his new material and really doesn’t need them anymore. I can’t wait to see what new material Lindsey has up his sleeve in the future, and I’m all in for seeing him perform in concert yet another time. I have no real interest in seeing Fleetwood Mac again, especially without Lindsey involved. Should they release an album without him, I’ll be sure to add to my collection, but don’t expect it to be great without Lindsey’s influence. Over the past three or four years, Lindsey Buckingham has climbed to the #3 spot on my list of favorite musicians only behind AC/DC and KISS. For those who know and understand my passion for these other bands, it should also make them realize the significance and greatness of Lindsey Buckingham’s music with orwithout Fleetwood Mac.

  • Mikey Hersh

--

--

Michael Hersh
Mikey's Ultimate Jukebox

An empath, a non-conformist, a music/TV/movie historian, a believer in the impact of genuine appreciation, a proud father, an AC/DC fan, and much, much, more!