Mikey’s Ultimate Jukebox: Why Van Halen Matters To Me

Michael Hersh
Mikey's Ultimate Jukebox
6 min readAug 14, 2018

They were essential to introducing me to my favorite genre of music (Hard Rock/Heavy Metal). They were the first hard rock band I was exposed to in 1984. They might just be the band with the most natural talent, but bigger egos that may have damaged their legacy. Their 80’s and 90’s MTV classic songs and videos were staples of my childhood and teen years. Their lead guitarist is considered a rock and roll virtuoso. They were able to replace their lead singer like AC/DC in the mid-80’s and go on to bigger success. And they were supposedly discovered by Gene Simmons from KISS. Ladies and gentlemen… Van Halen!! And why they matter to me.

Band Members: Eddie Van Halen, Alex Van Halen, Michael Anthony, Sammy Hagar, David Lee Roth
Year Inducted: 2013
Years As A Fan: 34 Years (*1984)
Intro Song: Jump
Top 500 Songs: Jump, Love Walks In, Right Now, Dreams, Hot For Teacher, Panama
Addl. Key Songs: Top Of The World, Ain’t Talking ‘Bout Love, I Can’t Stop Loving You, Finish What You Started, When It’s Love, Why Can’t This Be Love, Dance The Night Away, I’ll Wait, Best Of Both Worlds, Not Enough, Me Wise Magic, She’s The Woman, Tattoo, Poundcake, Feels So Good, Humans Being
Key Albums: For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge, Van Halen, Van Halen II, OU812, 5150, 1984, Women & Children First
Personal Music Awards: 2012 Song/Rock Song Of The Year (She’s The Woman)
Seen Live: 2007 Izod Center
Photo Opp: N/A

My Introduction to Van Halen (The MTV Music Video for Jump)

Before KISS, AC/DC, and the bigger picture of classic rock/hard rock became a big part of my life, there first was Van Halen. Up until the first time I saw the music video on MTV for Jump, my tiny vision of musical artists was that of R&B artists like Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie, or new wave romantic bands like Duran Duran or Kajagoogoo only. That all changed when I got my first introduction to rock & roll even if Van Halen went synth when I saw the Jump video on MTV in 1984. It truly made an impact on little Mikey Hersh. I had never seen musical artists that smiled so much and seemed down to earth. I knew absolutely nothing about Eruption, Van Halen’s debut album, Running With The Devil, or the fact that Eddie Van Halen was a musical virtuoso at this point. My six-year-old brain was intrigued by the headband wearing drummer, the happy go-lucky bearded bassist, and the long-haired star first playing a keyboard then switching to a guitar while smiling while the lead singer sang about having his back against a racket machine. It also didn’t hurt that this tune was so darn catchy. A few weeks later, I’d see videos for other Van Halen songs like Panama and Hot For Teacher (which was perhaps my first glimpse into the debauchery and taboo side of rock & roll) and then solo videos from David Lee Roth that were very campy and confused me why the hip young guitarist from the Jump video was missing. My mom bought the 45’ single of Jump for me, and even to this day, it remains one of top 100 songs in my collection. My gateway to rock & roll no doubt was because of this dynamic band from the Los Angeles, Van Halen.

Throughout the rest of the 80’s, 90’s and 2000’s, Van Halen was always there and in my consciousness. I was puzzled at first in 1986 when Van Halen’s new lead singer was the dude who sang the song about not being to drive 55. But it was fine, as Van Halen’s sound was becoming more polished and their songs and music videos for radio-friendly tunes like Dreams, Love Walks in, and When’s It Love were amazing thanks to the talent of Sammy Hagar. As I caught up and became wrapped in classic rock, I discovered the greatness of pre-1984 albums and songs like Running With The Devil, Ain’t Talking Bout Love, Dance The Night Away, and You Really Got Me. But I truly was partial to Van Hagar as Sammy’s songs with the band were much more catchy. I was sucked into the illusion of the magic of Van Halen even though I had no idea how out of control and insane the Van Halen brothers really were behind the scenes. Their behavior might have even diminished the amazing talent they had already blew my mind with on the soundtrack of my life. Just like other bands I loved like Kiss, Chicago, and Journey, Van Halen was not immune to a lot of drama and nonsense mainly due to abuse of drugs and alcohol. Eventually Sammy Hagar got booted and replaced with Gary Cherone from Extreme for the abysmal Van Halen III turd. Cherone was around for a cup of coffee until he was discarded. It then got too hard to keep track as David Lee Roth was back one moment, then Hagar, then David Lee Roth again. And then Eddie’s son, Wolfgang became the new bass player as the band threw their longtime companion and friend Michael Anthony out primarily because he was a friend of Hagar’s!! Drama, indeed!

I had the pleasure of seeing the David Lee Roth/Sammy Hagar tour in 2001, and my opinion that Sammy was the much better singer and overall performer was justified after seeing this show. David Lee Roth’s performance was just awful and truly had me believe his glory days were completely over. It only made sense he opened for Sammy! When Van Halen got back together with David Lee Roth for their first reunion tour before releasing their first studio album with Roth since 1984, I had the privilege of seeing them live at Continental Airlines Arena. It was just so-so and it was obvious to me that Eddie Van Halen was just running the motions as he complained and whined all night to his guitar techs. Roth was better than when I saw him on the Hagar/Roth show years ago, but still not even close his best days when considered the greatest showman in rock & roll.

God Bless Youtube!: The “supposed” first Van Halen reunion at the 1996 MTV Music Awards

To this day, I continue to enjoy the music of Van Halen, although I could do without all the drama and nonsense that detracts from their true greatness. Right Now was the song my wedding party entered to on our big day. Jump was one of the most influential songs on the soundtrack of my life. Finish What Ya Started and When It’s Love were essential songs during the glory summer days of the late 80’s I’m probably done seeing them live even if Michael Anthony or Sammy Hagar return, but I would be excited for one final Van Halen studio album. Based on my favorite book of 2017 Runnin’ With The Devil written by their former manager, it’s amazing Eddie and especially Alex Van Halen are still alive. Van Halen was one of the most important and great bands in the history of rock and roll, and changed the game. But if they weren’t so out of control and messed up on substances, they could have been even bigger. But I’ll take what I got as that darn Eddie Van Halen guitar solo (316) for some reason I yet to know why is in my head every morning when I wake up.

-Mikey Hersh

--

--

Michael Hersh
Mikey's Ultimate Jukebox

An empath, a non-conformist, a music/TV/movie historian, a believer in the impact of genuine appreciation, a proud father, an AC/DC fan, and much, much, more!