You’ll Never Stop Loving ‘em

Michael Young
MikeYungTypos
Published in
2 min readSep 2, 2020

About 7or 8 years ago my oldest went out without permission. Think he was 12 or 13 at the time. Anyways, he asked to go out and we said no. He said he was going anyways and that he wouldn’t be home before curfew either.

This had never happened before and the whole night sucked. My lovely wife was upset and worried. I was more angry but worried as well.

The Winnipeg Jets took a beating that night and I watched faithfully, as best I could in the midst of the household chaos.

Thought about my disappointment with the Jets and with my kid. Pondered how that disappointment co-exists so comfortably with my unconditional love.

Of course I’m disappointed. Of course I love them. Since I love them how could I be anything but disappointed?

Well, the next morning this come to me. Enjoy.

Love them ’cause they’re ours, not ’cause they’re good.

Support them 100%.

Tear out your own heart so they can stomp on it.

Brace yourself to be disappointed in fresh ways on a regular basis.

Cheer enthusiastically while they do this, knowing in your heart one day it will all come together.

When that day comes everyone else will be as proud as you are now.

Peace and love my friends.

--

--