revisit me

tokyo

mikko
mikko

--

3.14 - 6.20, 2017 | 15 YO | FUJI X-T2

Revisit Me. I grew up in Tokyo until I was 8 where I then moved to Boston for a year and now live in Los Angles. In 9th grade — at age 15 — I went to Tokyo for a study abroad and for a home stay with close friends. This 3 month trip to Tokyo was to revisit my past self; where I could take the train looking out the window alone just as I did when I was 8 years old. I went to Tokyo in the mindset that I was going to get my language back, and I did. I used as much of my Japanese as I could at school and out in the city, strictly speaking in a proper manner that eventually my Japanese got quite good where I was able to do a presentation on nuclear power plants by the end of the term. I stayed with the Fullers, a family of five; Sam + Koen, the two kids, and Lauren + Corey, the parents. I went to the international school New IS with Sam + Koen, where Lauren also taught at.

I loved every day I spent with the Fullers in Tokyo; walking to school with Sam + Koen, rock climbing with kids from school on Thursdays, and spending time with Sam who we shared so many interests. Sam and I were goofy together, and indulging my self with countless mochi + tea was pretty nice. Seeing friends with Sam for what felt like every day before I left was a nice to conclude the trip with, and taking near midnight trains with him back home from friends’ house’s radiated an adventurous feeling while moving across Tokyo. My life was so drastically different, in the city I love, with wonderful people I had such a great time with that it was a simple pleasure being there.

My trip to Tokyo was transformative for me but not in the obvious ways. After being back for some time now I’m starting to connect my trip to Tokyo with the different and new mindset I live with today. Since I came back to L.A. I have had many realizations, especially in my first weeks. Because I stepped out of my daily routine, I realized how I can better spend my life. I now want to maximize every bit of life with productive and meaningful times. I’m now excited for the potential of what my life can be, and want to spend my life doing what I love. I didn’t have any major events that altered who I am as a person but being exposed to different life styles, and arguably, more importantly being away from the familiar helped me realize how I was stuck in my past. These 3 months was a time where I could enjoy my self with new dynamics and new people. I could have a drastically different lifestyle but still have siblings, Sam + Koen. With this trip I had a wonderful time with the Fullers and came back loving Tokyo more than ever.

私は東京で三ヶ月いた。東京育ちで2年生まで普通な小学校に通っていて、普通な日本人の子供がする事をした。子供の時私は同級生と学校へ歩いたり、電車の窓から外を眺めた。私は東京に三ヶ月行く理由はこう言う普通な事をまた出来るため。それと日本語をまた使えるようになるように。学校で出来るだけ日本語を使い、友達と話していても敬語しか使った。「めっちゃ」や「やばい」を使わなかったから理由で私の日本語が進んだ。東京にいた間フラーの家族と泊まって、New ISとい言うインターナショナルスクール行った。家族の中は5人いた。二人の子供、サムとコーエンと二人の大人、ローレンとコリー。東京にいた間毎日素敵な日だった。サムとコーエンと学校へ歩いたり、生徒とロッククライミングをしたり、私と同じきょうみがあるサムと時間を過せて幸せだった。そして毎朝通学の途中にコンビニとか自動販売機でお茶を買うのを楽しんだ。私の大好きな東京で素敵な人と暮せる事が出来て嬉しい。東京から帰って来た時から私は人間として進んだ。東京に帰って来たら私は将来を前より楽しみにしていて、私がかんしんある事しかやりたい。東京に行ったおかげで私はこれを気がついた。私はこの家族とすてきな三ヶ月を東京に過ごした。

Itabashi | 板橋

Itabashi is where I was as a kid. I lived there until 2nd grade and it shaped me into who I am now. I walked to school with other ordinary kids, and like any other Japanese kid went grocery shopping on my own. It is because of Itabashi that I am independent and enjoy being alone.

板橋。この近所は私が生まれた時から2年生まで育った所。ここで私は他の子供と小学校へ歩いたり、自分でスーパーで買い物をした。私はここで育ったおかげで私は今の私になった。今回板橋にいた時私は前いつも行ったおにぎりの店に行ったり昔の友達と会った。板橋は永遠に私にとって大切な所。公園とか駅とかスーパー、シンプルな所が私の思い出の中で一番目立つ。

The photo above with the Onigiri is a special place I’ve known for a long time. I’ve eaten there countless times while living in this neighborhood and to this day still remember numerous memories from the place. When I was getting my uniform bag for 1st grade and wanted the red color, the couple who work there told me to go with what I wanted and ignore the fact that boys wear black and girls wear red. Even if that meant questioning and potential teasing for an already peculiar kid.

上のおにぎりの写真は「おにぎりぼんご」と言う店。板橋に住んでいた時いつも行った店だった。その店で私が一年生のためのランドセルの色を相談していた時、店の男性が私に同意して、私が欲しがっていた赤色を買った方が良いと言われた。男も赤色は良いって。

Ekoda | 江古田

Ekoda, the neighborhood the Fullers and I lived was just three stops away from Ikebukuro, one of the busiest train stations. The house was full of Sam’s art which kept it vibrant. Mid-way through my trip Sam and Koen collaborated on the graffiti chicken above that was seen just out side of my bedroom I was staying in. And the photo below is that room I stayed in.

江古田の近所もホームステーイの家もすてきだった。家の中にはアートがたくさんあって、本当に良いふみきがあってすぐ落ち着けた。上の写真は私のホームステーイの妹コーエンと弟サムが一緒に作ったグラフィティ。下の写真はもともとサムので私が三ヶ月使った部屋。部屋の写真のその下はサムの学校のアサイメント。サムは家族の災害キットをみんなに見せるため箱の中にある物を全部出して体に貼った。で、すてきなポーズをして私は彼のために撮った。

東京にいた間好きだったのはシンプルな物をやった時。同級生と電車に乗って野球を遊びに行ったり、放課後近くの公園へ歩いた時。そう言う事はロスで経験出来ない。

This shop made me SUPPER happy. A husband and wife would make fresh mochi daily without the crap you get in the conventional stores. I went frequently, often going once a week.

ここは本当にすばらしい店だった。せめて毎週一回このもち屋さんで自家製のもちを買った。私が好きだったのはかしわもち。

サムはグラフィティに本当に興味があるので彼は自分の近所の回りに自分のアートを貼った。

City | 町

In Tokyo everything is so dense yet so accessible. And I looked forward to just the travel though this city because that alone is enjoyable.

Nico + Nino loved graffiti. They would draw to no end at school, and at home go through countless amounts of canvases, one of them I got to keep and bring home. We ate meals with the family, and the two brothers took Sam and I on a graffiti tour in Harajuku + Shibuya pointing out the real and the best.

にこ+にのの家。学校の同級生と友達は普通な人と違う。ふなとの家族はアート、特にグラフィティが大好きで二人の子供はキャンバスにたくさん書く。三ヶ月の間この家族と一緒に夜ご飯を偶に食べて、二人の兄弟は原宿と渋谷にある色々なグラフィティを私たちに見せた。

The photo below is a photo I took walking around Harajuku. This man seemingly came from a wedding down the block where he then took a nap in front of a shoe store; coincidentally falling right beside the hashtag #STANDFORSOMETHING.

下の写真は編集されていない。近くの結婚式から歩いた男性が飲みすぎて靴屋の前で寝ちゃた。面白いのは男性が#STANDFORSOMETHINGの字のとなりに座った事。

DJ Shadow

For Sam’s 14th Birthday Corey + Lauren had an elaborate plan. They told Sam in advance that we would have a party just for the family, but early because of Corey’s work. On that day we took the train to Ebisu where we ate at one of the restaurants Sam likes. After supper we took what Sam thought as a casual stroll but was in fact our walk to a DJ Shadow concert, one of Sam’s most favorite artists.

サムの14歳の誕生日にコリーとローレンは DJ Shadow と言う人のコンサートにみんなを連れて行った。サムの親はコンサートの事をないしょにして、ただ食事を食べに行くと考えさせた。ビルの前にコーエンがコンサートのチケットを出してサムの笑顔が出た。

Last Night in Ekoda

On my last day of the home stay and the last day for Sam + Koen before they went to Bellingham we went to a Unagi (Eel) restaurant in the neighborhood; a meal I love and was really happy to enjoy with everyone.

私の大好物、うな重を私たち子供の最後の日に食べた。江古田にある店で、夜ご飯の後は近所の公園で私の初めてのガリガリ君を食べた。

Grandparents | 祖父母

Mikan + Kage | みかん + かげ

普通犬と猫を一緒に考えると人は多分おたがいけんかすると思うちゃう。みかんとかげは違っていた。二人は本当に仲良しで、時々一緒に寝た。みかんは元気すぎて、かげは落ち着いていた方だった。

Food | 食べ物

During my stay with the Fullers I had countless delicious meals that ranged within all types of dishes. Mostly made by Corey and some by Lauren. All super tasty.

フラーと泊まっていた間美味しい食事を何回も食べた。

--

--