Interview Outtakes: Marlins Pitching Prospect Andrew Heaney Answers Four Questions

Sam Dykstra
MiLB.com’s PROSPECTive Blog
2 min readMar 7, 2013

By MiLB.com

MiLB.com will publish my Q&A with Andrew Heaney this week or next. In the interim, the №5 Marlins prospect — and baseball’s 81st-ranked farmhand (bio, stats here) — shared four throughts (below) that didn’t make it into the story. Enjoy.

Dano Keeney/MiLB.com
Dano Keeney/MiLB.com

On his first Major League camp, before being sent down to rehab his lat strain: “It was really good. The coaches were really good to me. The guys were really good to me. Got to go play golf, get to know them on a more personal level and soak up some knowledge. Obviously, I wish I could stay a little longer. In baseball, injuries happen. I just have to work through it.”

On who among the Marlins he spent time learning from: “I got to know some of the guys I met last year who were in their first Major League camp [Jake Marisnick among them]. I got to know [fellow starter and former top Tigers prospect Jacob] Turner pretty well. I appreciated the guys understanding that not only was this my first big league camp, but my first camp ever.”

On his goals for 2013: “I haven’t really thought about it. I’m just focused on finishing Spring Training, seeing [what team] I break with, depending if I have stay back in extended. Once the season starts, I’ll set some goals.”

On his preferred jersey number in the Majors: “I wore №5 in high school, and when I got to Oklahoma State we had a senior that was leaving, and they were like, ‘Yeah, you’ll get №5 when he leaves. And then one of the guys that was older than me was like, ‘No, I’m getting №5. I’ve been waiting for it.’ So I changed to 8, and since then I haven’t had a specific number, so honestly should I get [to the Majors] whatever number got me there, I will be sentimental to that number or try to get 5 or 8, but it really doesn’t matter. I don’t have any tattoos with my number or a chain with my number.

Dano Keeney/MiLB.com

--

--

Sam Dykstra
MiLB.com’s PROSPECTive Blog

Reporter with @MiLB. Boston University alum. Western Mass. native. Lover of Dunkin, Tom Hanks films and Twain.