Interview outtakes: More from Kopech, Getz

Alex Kraft
MiLB.com’s PROSPECTive Blog
5 min readFeb 8, 2017

By Alex Kraft / MiLB.com

Michael Kopech addresses a group of reporters at SoxFest last month. (Nam Y. Huh/AP)

The MiLB.com feature on Michael Kopech and Lucas Giolito featured quotes from Kopech and White Sox director of player development Chris Getz. Of course, not every response from those interviews made it into the story. Here are some of the comments that missed the cut, presented in Q&A form.

Kopech

MiLB.com: You just had a chance to experience SoxFest. What was it like interacting with some of your future teammates and fans?

Kopech: It was exciting. It was a lot of fun to get in front of the eyes that are going to be laid on me throughout the rest of my career. I got to throw my first bullpen of the off-season in front of [White Sox pitching coach Don Cooper], so it was fun getting to work with him firsthand. I probably put a little too much pressure on myself, being the first bullpen and trying to impress, but overall I was excited to get in front of him and see what he had to say and show him my style of pitching.

MiLB.com: Any conversations from the weekend that really stood out?

Kopech: I kind of tried to keep my head down and not talk too much and let those guys do their thing, but I will say everyone was very welcoming. I didn’t feel like I was necessarily out of place. I got to talk to [White Sox third baseman] Todd Frazier a little bit, and he’s just a very genuine guy. He interacts with the fans well, interacts with the young players well. So that was important to me. I was excited to see him reach out.

MiLB.com: You’ve been kind of limited the last two seasons in terms of game action, with only 121 1/3 innings combined. Do you see that lack of mileage as a positive or negative?

Kopech: I think what people don’t realize is that even when I wasn’t pitching in games, I was still throwing to live hitters and getting my work in just as much as I was before. The only difference is there wasn’t an umpire. The thing for me was to work with the availability that I had. Luckily, I had two great pitching coaches the past two seasons who were able to tweak a pitch here and there and got me to a point where I was comfortable throwing both [my secondary] pitches. Since then, it’s steadily improved. It’s not great by any means right now, but it’s coming along the way I want it to.

MiLB.com: You mentioned your admiration for Nolan Ryan growing up. Any other players you’ve been able to draw inspiration from?

Kopech: Later on in my childhood, I became a big Randy Johnson fan. He was just a long, dominating lefty who threw hard and was a strikeout king. I always was a fan of the strikeout. Now, realizing that the game has changed and 95 [mph] is the new 90, I knew as I got a little older that command is more important than just blowing people away. That’s something I’ve tried to take with me into pro ball.

Getz

MiLB.com: You took over as director of player development in October. Since then, you’ve been given the No. 2 prospect in baseball in Yoan Moncada as well as two of the game’s premier pitching prospects to work with. I imagine not a bad way to start?

Getz: [laughs] I really can’t complain about that. I took the job in late October and then, before you know it, we added some premium players. It’s an exciting time to be part of an organization that’s building within the farm system. I think everyone’s motivated and excited to get to Spring Training and get these guys going.

MiLB.com: What was it like being at the Winter Meetings and kind of seeing those two deals coming together?

Getz: Obviously, Chris Sale and Adam Eaton are very attractive pieces, so there’s a lot that goes into these deals. There was definitely some [talk] leading up to this. I was aware of what was going on and then, obviously, we were all together there in D.C. and we were getting closer and closer. … As I was running downstairs, I’d come back to the suite and we’d be getting a little bit closer, getting updates. Before you know it, the deal was made, the medical side was finalized and we were very excited.

MiLB.com: You’ve had a chance to watch Lucas Giolito throw a bit. What were your impressions?

Getz: More times than not, it comes down to command of the fastball. He’s got a pretty good delivery. He’s got good angle with his fastball. The more he’s able to command that in and out, up and down, it opens up the ability for the off-speed. He’s got a 70 [grade] curveball, he’s got a good changeup. But it all starts with the fastball, command of the fastball.

MiLB.com: We know Michael Kopech can bring some rare velocity into a throwing session. What did you think seeing him throw for the first time?

Getz: He’s got a very good delivery. When he gets on the mound, he’s controlled. A lot of times when you get guys who are throwing upper-90’s into the triple digits, you’re looking at a nice true fastball that flattens out. But he still has life to his fastball. And he’s still only, what, 21 years old? We have him ticketed for Double-A and we’ll see how things play out from Spring Training to the season, but certainly the sky is the limit.

MiLB.com: With the injury concerns that typically follow guys who throw as hard as these two, do you see that affecting their workloads?

Getz: We’re certainly mindful. We have a history of keeping guys healthy. We’ve got a good strength and conditioning program and arm care program and, obviously, we’re going to monitor the innings. Every player is different, and as the season goes on, if you need to make adjustments, you make adjustments. But we believe in the system we have.

--

--