Nola’s season ends at Double-A, right where he wanted

Sam Dykstra
MiLB.com’s PROSPECTive Blog
2 min readSep 1, 2014

By Mark Emery

By Mark Emery / MiLB.com

Aaron Nola shouldn’t have too many regrets as he looks back on his first season as a professional baseball player.

nola pic

The Phillies’ №2 prospect made his final start on Friday, throwing five four-hit innings in Double-A Reading’s 3–0 win over Trenton. In 12 games (11 starts) between Class A Advanced Clearwater and Reading, the right-hander went 4–3 with a 2.93 ERA.

“I finished out on a good note,” Nola said Saturday. “It was all fun, man, but it flew by, it really did. I thought it was going to be a really long one after the college season but it honestly flew by — and I think that’s all because I was having fun.”

Less than a week after his final start at LSU, the right-hander was picked by Philadelphia with the seventh overall pick of the Draft on June 5. Just five days later, he signed with the organization, which started him out in the Florida State League.

“I feel like I made the right decision, when my college season ended and right after the Draft came, to sign early, because I wanted to get back on the mound as quick as I can and follow my college innings up,” Nola said. “I did and it all worked out for the best and I’m here in Double-A now. But who knows? If I would have signed late, like some of the guys, I would have to had to lead back up slowly throwing-wise and pitching-wise, and who knows where I would be?”

The 21-year-old made his professional debut on June 23, and in seven games (six starts) in Clearwater, he fashioned a 2–3 record and 3.16 ERA, with 30 strikeouts against five walks over 31 1/3 innings. His Reading career began on Aug. 6, and in five Eastern League starts, he assembled a 2–0 record and 2.63 ERA with 15 strikeouts against five walks across 24 frames.

“I wanted to get to Double-A. I wanted to get here, experience it in my first half-season,” Nola said. “[Next year], I’m going to go wherever they send me, but I’m just going to do like I did this time — go out and try to have my best start each time and leave everything out on the field like I usually did.”

--

--

Sam Dykstra
MiLB.com’s PROSPECTive Blog

Reporter with @MiLB. Boston University alum. Western Mass. native. Lover of Dunkin, Tom Hanks films and Twain.