Prospect Q&A: Dodgers OF Joc Pederson

Sam Dykstra
MiLB.com’s PROSPECTive Blog
3 min readAug 23, 2014

By tylermaun2

Pederson

By Tyler Maun / MiLB.com

Top Dodgers prospect Joc Pederson is closing in on Triple-A history. On Friday night, Pederson swiped his 29th bag and hit his 32nd home run of the season, putting him one stolen base away from becoming the first 30/30 player in modern Pacific Coast League history. Through 114 games this year with the Albuquerque Isotopes, Pederson has been one of the most impressive and consistent players in the PCL, batting .301/432/.586 while driving in 73 runs and scoring 98 more. I spoke with Pederson this week in Colorado Springs as the Isotopes arrived for a weekend series with the Sky Sox.

MiLB.com: You’re getting close to being the PCL’s first 30/30 player in the modern era. Have you considered the impact of that record much as you get closer to it?

Pederson: I have not gotten there yet, but I’ve definitely heard a lot about it. I think everyone knows what’s going on, so I guess it’s going to make it a little more difficult trying to get stolen bases when they’re aware that you’re trying to go. It’s been fun. It’s been a long season, but it’d be a nice topping to the end of the season.

MiLB.com: What does it says about your season from a consistency standpoint to be this close to such an accomplishment?

Pederson: That’s kind of what we aim for. You come in, get a good routine so that you can stay consistent as much as possible. The game’s hard enough. You want to have your foundation built so that when you hit a struggle, you know how to get back there. I think it’s been a great learning year, but I still have a lot of progression that needs to be made. I’ve got to keep coming in and working on my craft.

MiLB.com: What do you think you’ve learned most about yourself as a baseball player at the Triple-A level versus in seasons past?

Pederson: I think just understanding different game scenarios — what bases to throw to in certain innings, when’s a good count to run, how pitchers are going to attack you, late innings with runners on how they’re going to attack, just understanding the game. Becoming smarter with the game. I think in Double-A, a lot of people are talented, but here, it’s a little bit more refined. In the big leagues, it’s going to be even more refined, so there are adjustments that need to be made.

MiLB.com: What’s your routine to get ready for a game late in a season like this?

Pederson: Everyone has their different stuff to get ready before they head to the cage or weight room or whatever they do. I have a routine in the cage that I do with our hitting coach. On a show-and-go day like today, I’ll get loose, go take a couple swings, do my routine and then come out and get ready for the game.

MiLB.com: With expanded MLB rosters in September coming up, have you considered what it’ll be like to possibly have your first Major League experience just a few days away?

Pederson: Obviously, that’s my dream is to play in the big leagues. It’s hard not to think about it, but it’s 100-percent out of my control. I just need to come here every day, focus on today, be in the moment. Tomorrow’s not guaranteed. As much as you want it to happen, you can’t [make it happen], so you’ve just got to do what you can do here.

--

--

Sam Dykstra
MiLB.com’s PROSPECTive Blog

Reporter with @MiLB. Boston University alum. Western Mass. native. Lover of Dunkin, Tom Hanks films and Twain.