How I organize myself and our household

Milena Glimbovski
Milena Glimbovski
Published in
3 min readDec 11, 2019

First, I don’t need any expensive tools. Not the newest mobile phone nor the fanciest laptop. Not even all the fancy apps and books are necessary. The key is here was finding the tools which work for me and my family and using them regularly. Routine is queen.

First tool is: talking. A lot. Communication. Saturday or Sundays we try to plan the week ahead of us.

I use asana as a project management tool and for bigger private projects as well. My partner uses it as well and I can give him tasks there (after talking about it). We both use the app and website.

We also have a drive list full of our chores, care work and who is responsible for what for sharing the workload.

We use wunderlist for a shopping list — which we still haven’t synchronized. I also use wunderlist for lists for cities I wanna visit and what I d like to do there.

I use Evernote for writing texts, longer notes in meetings, posts and having it synchronized with my laptop app.

We share a Google calender for common meetings like doctors appointment from Goldenboy but also if something is off schedule. Like me having a talk outside of office hours, Paul meeting friends for drinks, us partying together (just kidding) and so on.

I use Ein guter Plan Family for my weekly goal, my weekly, monthly and yearly reflections and for my “me time”.

Since I run a business and have quite a lot of press, “just having coffee”-mails and other inquieries, I need an assistance to help set up meetings and who reads most of the mails adressed to me. But don’t worry my DMs on social media, are still read by only my.

Every morning I sit down at my office, have a cup of black tea or coffee and make a list with the 1,2,3 technique using the “ein guter block”. You basically need just a blank paper. You write down the one big thing you wanna accomplish today. Then you write down two smaller things and three tiny things. I check asana to see what has to be done and prioritize like this. This is my to do list for the day. Everything else happens after the list is done.

How do I know what is my weekly goal and what is important: either I have deadlines or I just what I care about and needs to be done. I plan with the company once a year the strategy (though we should do this more often) and I also do the same for myself. I set goals for the year (using my ein guter plan family) and try to ask myself with every task if I work towards this goal or if I d at least enjoy it. This sounds like a lot, but I adopted and changed and developed this usage over years.

Don’t feel overwhelmed. If something sounds like you could use it. Just try one thing. Hope it helps. ❤️

--

--

Milena Glimbovski
Milena Glimbovski

ganz leise ganz laut sein - Worte-im-Mund-Verdreherin, Besserwisserin-aber-inzwischen-die-Klappe-Halterin, Geschäftsführerin von @OrigUnverpackt & @einguterplan