:/

25 days, 157.3 miles & 4714ft of elevation later…

Alexander Holley
commentary
Published in
3 min readDec 25, 2014

--

Exhaustion is difficult. Real exhaustion. Where your body is basically dead on it’s feet. That was day 15. Running through that is really difficult. That only happened a few times though. That picture above? That’s not exhaustion. That’s just a hangover (day 24).

Today is day 25 of Advent Running. What’s that you might say?

The aim is to run for a minimum of 30 minutes a day, each day, between the 1st and the 25th of December. After that you can carry on for the rest of the month, or take a break with the knowledge that you’ll be able to start the New Year in fighting form and ready to smash out some new PBs.

Ah. A streak. My longest streak up until this point was 20 runs which was interupted mostly by alcohol. So if I was going to take this seriously I’d have to manage my hangovers and also not get injured. Doable, I thought — which is reason enough for me.

And so I began.

What came as a surprise is just how time poor I was. I maybe average six/seven hours sleep a night. And generally work in between the hours of nine and six. On top of that… I do attempt to have a social life, even though some of my friends would beg to differ right about now.

20h28m is the total amount of time I spent running. That excludes any moments to take a picture or get unreasonably excited about a bunch of white dogs and I don’t even like dogs that much. But I digress, it was a lot of time on the road. At the start I generally thought it was easy. Get up a bit earlier, run, shower, head into work. But sometimes I got up that little bit too late and there were some hairy moments where I was having to wonder just how agile agile working could be.

In those moments I started to take kit to work. I realised that I could see a different part of London than I usually run and that definitely helped. I was finding new routes in and around Camden, too. Just where I thought things were going to get too difficult - or worse, too boring I was finding new ways to keep things fresh. Heck, I even volunteered to back mark one of the running groups I run with.

I explored hills I haven’t ran on my own before. I ran multiple hills in one run just to see if I could fit them all in. I started randomly taking turns that I’ve never taken before just to see what was around the corner. I was up before the sun and caught a few brilliant sunrises.

Habit forming whilst others are habit breaking. That’s what it was to me.

I already run a fair amount, but this really solidified early starts, feeling like I had more energy… and more importantly, the capacity to really push the limit of how many mince pies one can eat over the Christmas period. 27 is the average. I think I might just be over that…

So as this morning, on Christmas Day, when I looked at my watch and I was 30 minutes in… and looked up again and there was a barrier in front of me with a stop sign. I smiled to myself. I couldn’t stop. I was 30 minutes from home. And so I ran.

Finally, shout out to Claudia & James for putting this together. And every single person in that little community on Facebook. Honestly my feed getting taken over by running stories and photos was just the push I needed to get out of bed on a few of those days. Couldn’t have done it without you guys. Same time next year, right?

ps: find me on Strava, Instagram and the original source of this post… Tumblr. Lots more pictures of the month over there.

--

--

Alexander Holley
commentary

I like the anonymity that directors can have about their films. Even though it's my voice, I'm a storyteller. I run. Alot.