Generation M

yitch
Millennial Corps
Published in
3 min readJul 24, 2014

--

‘M’ for management, ‘M’ for mentoring, ‘M’ for me

There was recently an article in HR in Asia (http://www.hrinasia.com/general/the-millennials-myth/) discussing the millennial myth.

This article is in response to the millennial myth.

I am a millennial. We are quite real, I assure you ☺

Not too long ago, we were legally allowed to drink. Even longer ago, we were legally allowed to drive. Right now, we are working at the cubicle right next to yours. We raise eyebrows with our strange behavior. Some frown at our idiosyncrancies and total disregard for age old tradition. And when working in an old company with traditional folks the generational tension really heats up.

Or does it?

I work in IBM. It’s a company that is as old as it’s going to get, at least in the technology industry (technology and old are normally antithesis of each, but we make it work every day)

Before I continue, let me just state, for the record, what I write does not represent the view of the company and the following opinion are purely my thoughts as an individual. The pictures used were found openly on Google and labeled for reuse. (I believe this declaration authenticates my employment)

Being a century old doesn’t mean we have the mentality from the 1900s (ok maybe sometimes) but generally, we have reinvented ourselves to stay current, in technology as well as management.

One general frustration in most organizations is the management and having feedback fall on deaf ears. The stories about our hierachical bureaucracy is very true. Yet at the same time we have a flat structure. Our management follows a bureaucratically-flat duality. This makes them very approachable and yet still command respect with the younger folks.

Sometimes it may take a long time, but management is receptive to new ideas. Personally I have had the opportunity to pitch an idea to our regional leadership team. A friend of mine had an opportunity to pitch to the CEO and her team (she’s based in New York and I’m based in Singapore but same difference ☺). In general, they do listen. Frankly, that’s what anyone wants, a listening ear and a follow up to see things through if the concerns are valid.

The other thing that really defines the company is our strong mentoring program. There are situations where a relationship was forced. However these just don’t survive.

In situations where mentees and mentors seek each other out, things tend to turn out wonderfully. I have had a mentor approach me all the way from UK. Brilliant fellow who has given me good advice and introduced me to more folks who could coach me in areas I wanted to move into such as project management or social analytics. I have also approached people to mentor me and that has turned out pretty well too.

Our mentoring program even spills into our corporate social responsibility (ok I speak only for the Singaporean geography) that we mentor high school and middle school students on how to run projects for community projects.

We are definitely not what we once were, but that makes us work harder to stay essential.

--

--

yitch
Millennial Corps

If you are enjoy a laugh at the expense of our corporate overlords, I hope my sense of humour is the cause