Drifting Away From You

Karen Tang
Millennial Poets
Published in
1 min readJun 22, 2020
<span>Photo by <a href=”https://unsplash.com/@estudentetser?utm_source=unsplash&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_content=credi
Photo by Elvin Ruiz on Unsplash

The difference between me and you was how deeply I loved; It’s a beautiful thing to love someone so intensely than to guard yourself with armor. I immersed all of myself into you. I felt the absence of you with a heavyweight on my chest when you were gone, while you never spared a thought on me.

When this dawned on me, it felt like my limbs were being ripped apart piece by piece. I had to let you go. Those words felt like poison spewing out of my mouth but I had to cleanse myself from your toxicity. I had to learn to love myself more deeply from the scarcity of love you gave me.

--

--

Karen Tang
Millennial Poets

Karen Tang is a writer and poet from Vancouver, B.C. She writes about all things on love and heartbreak. Connect with me: https://www.instagram.com/kkmpoetry/