ESCAPE

Sravani Kothapalli
Millennial Poets
Published in
2 min readMar 11, 2022
Photo by Ludovica Dri on Unsplash

All I wanted was to escape from
the grasp of my obnoxious sensations.
Heavy heart and wrenching gut nearly
became a part of me and weighed me
down slowly.

All I wanted was to escape from
the freedom I have, equal to the gravity
at the center of the Earth.
Pulling me from every side
yet leaving me afloat at the same site.

All I wanted was to escape from
the fetters of reality,
To gaze at the stars that greet my heart,
To hold a home on my side of the moon
and to be friends with the cosmos.

All I wanted was to escape from
the time by travelling at the
speed of light, to wipeout
the past, present and the future,
so dear to humankind.

All I wanted was to escape from
the mighty ignorance of the known
as tiny as Earth,
Floating on the space fabric amidst
unknown mysteries of existence.

All I wanted was to escape from
the duality of good-bad,
success-failure, birth-death like
the light entering into the black hole
and never returning.

All I wanted was to escape from
the fleeting life I live, with a masked smile on my face
and wailing within. Until one day
I realized, the peace I was searching
is in the burial ground.

I hanged the burden.
I am free to fly back where I came
to my mom. Here I rest in peace
with the Sound of silence
playing in the background.

--

--

Sravani Kothapalli
Millennial Poets

Just another enthusiastic human like you | Read, Write and Inspire |