I Wish

Ankit Gupta
Millennial Poets
Published in
1 min readDec 12, 2020

A poem about everything I want from life.

Photo by Yoal Desurmont on Unsplash

I wish life could be fair to all,
And people’s ambitions couldn’t be hindered or stalled.

that people may have things they want,
Or at least the necessities wouldn’t be scant.

I wish we didn’t have biased opinions,
And no one would force their dominion.

that people may always use their free will,
And we all could sustain mutual goodwill.

I wish we cared less about others,
Nor compete with ourselves and get our insecurities smothered.

that people could easily find their soulmate,
And then no adversity could snap their sedate.

I wish we had no sufferings or disease,
Or had a cure-all to eradicate them with ease.

that people had no scarcity of resource,
And no one could ever have regret or remorse.

While I wish all of the above could be undeniable,
I fear life may lose its meaning if these were viable.

As this is a result of years of evolution,
This is what makes life, with no perfect solution!

--

--

Ankit Gupta
Millennial Poets

PhD Student of Computer Science & Engineering at Michigan State University (Fall'23 - present). IIT-KGP Alumnus (Engineering UG, Batch of 2021).