I am not a writer

Millennial Poets
Millennial Poets
Published in
1 min readJan 2, 2021

but am writing
to say
to scream
my pain, fear, my tears

I am not a writer
who can eloquently state
how black bodies
are lying lifeless under knees.
for you.

I am not a writer
but I am
heartbroken
broken
broke
bro
not your bro

I am not a writer
but I am
a body
a black body
a beautiful nigga -
with strong brows
and wide knows
taco meat
a dream.

I have a mom who cries and prays
and cries and prays
for me
a dad who teaches me
to be
a black body
who sees tomorrow

I am not a writer
but I am
a black boy.

I matter too.

About the Poet

Carlis Shane Clark is 33 years old gay black man living in America who claims not to be a writer… but perhaps a poet?

He penned this beautiful poem in 2020, a year filled with loss, COVID-19, race-riots, and the heartwrenching breakup with his partner and soulmate of 7 1/2 years.

Photo by Cristian Newman on Unsplash

--

--

Millennial Poets
Millennial Poets

Millennial poets owns, and edits the publication: Millennial Poets. We are a bunch of Millennials who love poetry. Join us. Let us write the world anew.