Just Because My Crushes are Ignoring Me Doesn’t Mean I Can’t Have a Good Night

A poem by Josephine Rose

Millennial Poets
Millennial Poets
3 min readFeb 20, 2021

--

Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

Will I wait forever? How many times
will I check Hinge before it becomes a prayer
“Lead me not in temptation, but deliver me a match and
Eventually, some day a husband”

In what world does he get you flowers AND have a small dick?
I’ve always prided myself on my ability to embrace extremes but
this one I just can’t overlook, (female pleasure, orgasm, etc.)
We tell ourselves it’s a box to check
But when he oogles at small children on your way home from brunch, you think
“Okay maybe we can use a dildo?”

I still shave my legs but that’s mostly because I’m trying to set a new trend
Of wearing high wasted spandex bike shorts to the gym.
A girl needs a good shapewear garment sometimes, okay!?
I mean SKIMS are a household name.
My goal is to be so confident in my shape
That I don’t care who doesn’t text me back on a Friday night.

LOL

To be able to unpack depression as a concept with your friends
Is more valuable
Than getting head (imo)
But that’s just me
And I once took a job in the dead of winter walking dogs.
It’s only painful if you acknowledge it’s cold.
I have a high tolerance for pain AND pleasure is what I’m trying to say
I wonder how many Aries are poets
I could have SWORN Emily Dickinson is one
But when you Google it you find the answer to the question of which zodiac sign is the prettiest. And it’s NOT Aries.

Which is maybe why I don’t have a date tonight.
Maybe your attractability IS in your DNA?
More likely it's your ~mindset~
But we tell ourselves most things are in our control
So we don’t have to surrender to fate
And the idea of choice is more comforting than an arranged marriage
Scrolling through the options can feel a bit like browsing a menu,
Except
You’re sometimes ordering a living, breathing, denier of insecurities, with a full head of smooth hair, an emerging six pack and a dark sense of humor.

Hah.

I hate goodbyes.
So when you’re done reading this,
Just think… the fun never ends
Especially when you’re forever alone ❤
LOL JK I’m ~wise enough to know~
That divine timing is the only thing between me and my next kiss
And that to think anything but, is just a way of limiting my potential,
Narrowing my opportunity to love
And my wistful dreams of a partnership I’m too aware enough to know will never be easy

(Venus in Aries, ugh).

So when the bars open to the point of picking up a dude with a wink (never actually done that),
Or at the gym after a hard workout (have done that),
I’ll be there in my workout spanx and shaved legs,
Giving credence to the karmic score we have to settle
In this lifetime
Or maybe the next
Because I could almost certainly say I’ve met you, the next one or the one after that before.
An evolving story we tell each lifetime in different sequence
With the same issues, just different faces

About the Poet

Josephine Rose is a new poet looking to share her work in this virtual age. A teacher by trade, but a creative at heart.

--

--

Millennial Poets
Millennial Poets

Millennial poets owns, and edits the publication: Millennial Poets. We are a bunch of Millennials who love poetry. Join us. Let us write the world anew.