New Year’s Poem

Sean Zuckerman
Millennial Poets
Published in
1 min readJan 1, 2020

“Waves of Resolution”

In this new era
I will not seek change
For it implies
Happenings to me
Out of my control
Rather I will grow
With purpose, direction, and intention

To be resolute in my resolutions
I shall not celebrate
But contemplate
Letting go of that
Which no longer serves me
In love and life

Fear, shame, guilt
Envy, anger, arrogance
All the pain and sadness
Shall be swept away
Slipping into the surf
Drifting far away
To be known only as memories
In the ocean of my conscience

Perhaps washing ashore
Once in a blue moon
When a reminder is needed
Of why it all was left
Buried in the sand

So I may see it there
Now as something beautiful
From which love has been sifted
Among the dried corals and broken shells
Of time and space

Without desire to pick it up
Or carry it with me once more
But letting the waves take it back
So to watch the gleam
As it falls beyond the horizon
And into the deep

© Sean Zuckerman 12/31/2019

--

--