Prison

Dan J. Evans
Millennial Poets
Published in
Nov 1, 2020

by Dan J. Evans

White lights

unblinking from above

in the little room they gave me

for fighting myself.

The smell of pure alcohol

stinging my nostrils with its bland purity

in the little room they gave me

for fighting myself.

Telephones clanging during the day

a clock ticking at night

a camera in the corner

and a small nightstand

with the corners sanded off

in the little room they gave me

for fighting myself.

Love waves goodbye

as the door closes tight,

and I sat silently the first night

in a foreign bed

occupied by the ghosts

of countless other crazy ones

lost and wandering

in their own minds.

But I reminded myself

that even though I was alone

alone is not the end.

I read I ate I slept (or tried to)

I counted the seconds of the minutes of the hours of the days

until I could breathe the air

unpolluted by the pure alcohol

until I could freely feel

the silence of my small street

the warmth of the cozy home we had made

the promise in the night sky we stared into

and the sound of your voice

knowing now what I really was.

You still smile

as if nothing changed.

And in the sterile, still prison

of

Nothing

you are the warmth

I found

in the little room they gave me

for fighting myself.

Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

--

--