The Coldest Water

Sarah Lancaster
Millennial Poets
Published in
1 min readAug 27, 2019

A breeze so sweet it reminds me of her

A calm little whisper that feels like the moon

Maybe I’ll find you again and I’ll grab her by the waist

And finally feel content

Hair so soft it feels like a dream

Jesus Christ I’m not even an acquaintance

Unfortunately I need external validation

If it's not external it doesn’t exist

Everyone else gets love because an open mouth gets fed

I didn’t ask but you should have known

A rotten love it is but still I’m here

Where else would I be

Let’s work with simplicity

Everything easy

You know my aversion to pain

Fear never goes far from me

So please remember that when I run from you

Both of us are running but only one is being chased

Unfortunately love is my favorite feeling

Jesus Christ it is sweet

You feel softer than my mother's embrace

And you taste like the coldest water

Crawling down my throat nestled in my stomach

Warm me up rip me wide open and tend to me like you found me that way

--

--