To People Dancing In Public

Adellie
Millennial Poets
Published in
Feb 25, 2021

Free verse.
A letter to people brave enough to dance.

Shoes on the Danube Bank, 35 mm film/July 2019, my photo

Dear someone,

THANKS

For giving me the smile
I so much needed.

For holding me from ground
every time I´m wandering.

For proving that life can not be boring
and trying to make us realize.

For fighting the prejudices,
even though you might not notice it.

For vibing like a superstar,
you´re all over the moon.
And you make me go there with you.

For receiving looks of incomprehension
and letting them freely vanish in the air.

For letting the music take over
and unify with the rhythm of your body.

For both knowing how dance works
and being an amateur.

For making me want to be like you…

For all that, I thank you

--

--