Trap

Ramalingam Monisha
Millennial Poets
Published in
2 min readSep 17, 2020

A poem

Photo by Aenic from Pexels

There’s always someone in our life
Whose love makes us, and breaks us

You’re the one who showed me what love was
But you’re the one that shattered it too

You taught me that love can be beautiful
You taught me that it could be hurtful too

I wish your love didn’t hold me back
I wish I could remember you without bitterness

I want to fly out of your trap called love
But it hurts me to think of your love like that

I don’t want the guilt that comes with your love
I don’t want to be imprisoned by your feelings

I wish your love made me brave
I wish it made me fearless and strong

But all it did was take away my freedom
Along with that my ability to defy your love

I can’t even bring myself to tell you
That your love for me hurts me

I wish you wouldn’t hold on
I wish you would let me fly

I wish you opened your wings
Wings you kept me safe under

I hope that you understand
Your love means the world to me

But it doesn’t let me see the world
It doesn’t let me love you without pain

Your love means a lot to me
And I learned from it too

There’s always someone, whose love holds us back,
I just wish it wasn’t yours.

--

--

Ramalingam Monisha
Millennial Poets

I’m the words I write, the thoughts I think, the breaths I take, and the moments I live.