What Is A Dream?

Aoife Chaney
Millennial Poets
Published in
Apr 30, 2021
(Image: Unsplash)

What is a dream?
A dream is for you.
Not that of another,
Not foolish, but true.

What is a dream?
Is it for childish play,
To be simply forgotten,
At the dawn of each day?

What is a dream?
A risk not to be taken?
A wish not worth wishing,
In fear of heart breaking?

What is a dream?
Is it fiction or fable?
It rests on the dreamer’s
Belief in their able.

What is a dream?
A long shot of false hope?
No, a dream is a picture,
Of a life you could know.

I once had a dream,
I let it run free.
I did not conceal it,
Not hush it, did me.

I believed it each day,
I did not let it age.
You too, should dream,
And your life, it will change.

--

--

Aoife Chaney
Millennial Poets

Putting pen to paper in an attempt to understand the unknown adventure that is this colorfully chaotic life