What can the millennial generation do in this aging society?

Kishu Irie
MILLENNIALSTIMES
Published in
8 min readDec 26, 2017

This may seem like an average looking house in the residential area of Saitama prefecture. However, the not-so-average things about this place is the sign by the entrance. “BABA Lab Saitama Workshop” — This a small workshop for women aged anywhere from their 30s through to their 80s gather, to plan and produce products such as childcare items. (Note: “Baba” literally means “Grannie” in Japanese)

This house is “Baba Lab Saitama Workshop”

Products from BABA Lab Saitama Workshop are all useful grandchild rearing tools for grandmas and grandpas. Baby futons which enable safe carrying of babies with less strength. Baby bottles with big markings to enable easy readings even with presbyopia. These are all products developed from a universal point of view, so that the elderly can play a more active role in parenting.

The aging population and declining birth rate is a significant issue in modern Japan. Issues branch from medical care, nursing care to social welfare, and considering the predicted burden on the younger generations, it will undoubtedly affect us millennials.

In such social situation, BABA Lab had caught the attention of many, as the go-to place for women of different ages, skills and backgrounds. This is the place where diversity turns into income.

I went knocking on their door to find a hint to what role the millennial generation can play in this aging and diverse community.

When I stepped inside, the rhythmic tutting of sewing machines and voices of chuckling children welcomed me. The room in the back was the play room and I could see several kindergarten-aged kids running around.

The workshop was just by the entrance — an open space and a room with tatami mats.

Although I was told that women from different generations work here, I was expecting to see more elderly women… However, to my surprise, many of the staff looked like they were in their 30s.

The sense of security of knowing that there is a place where my child and I are welcomed

BABA Lab Saitama Workshop Staff, Mrs. Yokoya (Left) and Mrs. Suzuki (Right)

Mrs. Suzuki and Mrs. Yokoya are also the millennial generation that works at BABA Lab Saitama Workshop.

Mrs. Suzuki has two boys aged 6 and 2. She began working at BABA Lab Saitama Workshop when her older son turned a year and a half.

Mrs. Suzuki: “When my older boy turned one, I became sick of being chained at home just with my child. He will mess the room, I’d notice things about him that tick me off, or he’ll never stop talking to me. I sometimes desperately felt the need to be alone, not talk to him or hear his voice.

Having said that, I didn’t want to be too distant to him, so sending him to nursing school so I can go out to work was not an option. When I was lost, I found out about BABA Lab Saitama Workshop. Hearing that I can work with my child around, I decided to give it a go.”

Mrs. Suzuki and her 2nd boy, Asa.

Mrs. Yokoya who also has 2 children aged 6 and 3, nodded to Mrs. Suzuki’s comments and shared her experience.

Mrs. Yokoya: “I can relate to her story. I think people call it, ’Single-crew operation’ these days, but it’s exactly that. I tried visiting some parenting support centers, but I wasn’t satisfied with the outcome. It just helped me kill time.

Every time I went to these support centers, I had to explain everything from my background to family situation each visit. Other mothers will come well-dressed, so I felt pressured to dress well as well, which tired me out. I was overwhelmed with everything that was happening around me.”

Mrs. Yokoya admits that caring for two toddlers was eating her away. She found it suffocating being with them all the time, and yearned for some “me”-time. She was torn between the desire to do something other than parenting and the desire to be a good mother for the children.

That is why BABA lab Saitama Workshop worked well for her. It provided a place for her children to be, a job that can be done working around her needs, and the workshop was walking distance from home.

Mrs. Suzuki: “Having a place you can go, just makes you feel better. When you know there is a place you can always depend on, you’ll never be bored — even during holidays. (Chuckles)

When I come here, the old ladies take good care of my children. I can work, I can get a bit of a breather from the children, and I have many people to talk to. It’s refreshing.”

Grandmas, moms and children interacting

Mrs. Yokoya: “The old ladies at the workshop seem more to be lively when the kids come. The kids also help them when packaging products or preparing the dishes.”

Mrs. Suzuki: “I live in a housing complex, and the elderly residents there also take good care of the children. I think it’s easier for them to talk to us when we have children around. They never used to come talk to me when I was single, and I never talked to them either. It’s like the children encourage more active communication amongst adults too.”

Mrs. Yokoya: “When I come here (to BABA Lab), I can see that some of the elderly are willing to try something new, which is inspiring. It gives me the courage to take on a new challenge too.”

These are “Kusudama” (Festive paper balls) made by Mrs. Suzuki for events at BABA lab Saitama Workshop. The other staff were amazed with her skills and the quality has improved year on year.

A bit of breathing space is the key to balancing work and parenting

Mrs. Suzuki: “This place allows me to come whenever I can. No fixed working hours and it doesn’t force me to do things when I can’t do it. I can come here as I take care of my children. I can attend the kindergarten events and work at my own pace. Its good how I can have that flexibility.”

Mrs. Yokoya: “When I work at a company, I tend to think there’s more I can do and keep working until I get completely fatigued. However, there is more freedom here. I am instructed just to do what I can, in a timeline when I can.

Even when my child is sick, they give me the materials so I can do it at home when I find the time.”

BABA Lab’s ways of working in an aging society

Mrs. Shizuka Kuwahara, representative of “Shigoto Lab L.L.C”

I was able to talk to Mrs. Shizuka Kuwahara, the representative of Shigoto Lab L.L.C which runs BABA Lab Saitama Workshop.

She spoke to me about her thoughts on the importance of building a working environment with staff from diverse backgrounds.

“When people of the same age group with the same hobbies get together, it’s difficult to get a variety in input. The people who come to BABA Lab Saitama Workshop are all different ages, have different backgrounds and hobbies. This creates an opportunity to tap into a broad range of insights when planning products.

Latest trends and topics which are raised by the younger generation inspires the older generation, and that can lead to new product ideas.

When the staff’s children are ill, the elderly staff can make up for the shortfall. If there is work that is too difficult for the elderly, then the younger staff can do that for them. The young and old supplement each other.

BABA Lab Saitama Workshop Staff, Mrs. Shimamura on the sewing machine.

Usually in companies, they first have a job and then find someone who has the skills to do that job. However, for people who find it hard to just purely focus on work, such as mothers with children or the elderly, it works better to find a job that suits that individual based on what they can do.

That’s why there are no hard and fast rules here. Just come on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Fridays when you can. Do this job by so-and-so date. It’s tough to manage, but it works well for the staff here.”

Considering the fact that Japan is heading to a super aging society, nursing for the elderly will also start to start to burden the work force. Therefore creating new ways to work which suits the younger generation will definitely become crucial.

For the millenials to survive in this aging society

“Personally, I think the elderly generation should help the younger generation do things. When you’re young, you may feel resistance when older people tell you this and that, but their help is definitely going to make things easier. The younger generation should depend on the elderly more and accept their cooperation.

It’s also good to get closer to the elderly. When people get old, hearing becomes poor and you become less capable. When you’re young, you may get frustrated with the elderly not being able to do things, but everyone’s going to be in that position one day. We can’t defy aging.

That’s why spending time with the elderly is good because it develops understanding for the elderly and takes away unnecessary frustration. The children that come to BABA Lab Saitama Workshop spend a lot of time with the grannies that come here, so they’re very friendly to old people.”

“There’s a community café called Nora next door, where many women with children visit. BABA Lab Saitama Workshop and Nora have joint events twice a year.

Both are places where people can meet new people in the area and work together. I would like to create more places like these.

My dream is to create a well-connected community where neighbors can go pick up children when the family is busy or for neighbors to naturally reach out when people need help moving in or out.”

Community café, “Healthy Café Nora” next to BABA Lab Saitama Workshop. Workshops and events are also held here.
Owner of “Healthy Café Nora,” Mrs. Junko Arai and Mrs. Kuwahara

What is needed to survive in this aging society?

The answer may not be money or systems.

We are no longer in an era where the young just supports the old. The young and old need to support each other, make up for each other’s shortfalls and unite as a society.

There is so much we need to find out about each other.

For the Millennial generation to survive this aging society… May be the very first step is for us is to simply exchange greetings with the elderly in the neighborhood.

BABA Lab

“BABA Lab Saitama Workshop” and “BABA Lab Gifu-Ikeda Workshop (Gifu Prefecture)” were established to provide a place where people can live and work until the age of 100. New products and services are being developed here from the insights of the senior generation, and the workshop provides a place where the community can unite regardless of age.

Details: https://babanlnl.squarespace.com/

--

--

Kishu Irie
MILLENNIALSTIMES

1992年生まれ。営業でもあり、ライターでもあり、広報担当でもあり、色々やります。女子大在学中には126回の合コンを経験。祖父の介護をきっかけにジェロントロジー(加齢学)を学び「高齢社会エキスパート」の認定取得。