Social Media Campaign Design.

Milo Jurevicius
Milo Jurevicius
Published in
3 min readApr 25, 2018

These are campaign images which were created for Instagram.

These are campaign images created for Facebook.

These are some campaign images created for Twitter.

#LearnToCook Social Media Campaign

Overview: LearnToCook is a social media campaign that was designed for a class project, trying to get young people to cook for themselves. Cooking at home is much cheaper and healthier than eating out/ ordering in, and is a life skill that everyone should know at least a little bit of. Basic things such as preparing a salad, boiling rice or pasta, etc… Simply being able to follow a recipe, especially at a young age will make you a much more self- sufficient individual. The idea was to make cooking seem so simple that anyone could do it.

Context and Challenge: For me finding a theme is always the most difficult part of any creative project. A number of days were spent throwing away ideas, as well as doubting myself and feeling discouraged. This is where you learn that inspiration, as helpful as it is in a creative process, will not always be there and desperation is what will push the most amount of creativity in the moment. Also I would have liked to create more of a layout and use more graphic design, as I feel like I lack in that area, I’m alright at minimalism but not much else.

Process and Insight: A lot of my initial ideas came from my mom; growing up she would tell me that I need to learn basic cooking skills as she knows many people her own age who are hopeless at it. My idea for making the campaign appeal to young people was mainly trying to make cooking seem like not such a big deal through reducing the elements of it down to exaggerated and simple terms, cooking shouldn’t be an intimidating process as many meals only require few ingredients and time to finish.

Solution: My solution to the problem of the lack of inspiration was simplicity. Trying to be memorable as well as to the point was very important to me as I think I would remember that the most if I saw that on social media. Photos of simple food, mostly things that have been roughly chopped and put together to convey the idea of cooking not being difficult, as well as small bits of text that are easy to read on the go.

Results: In the end I feel fairly proud of the message behind my campaign as well as the fact that I came up with something at all, due to my creative block for so long. I’m glad that the message that my mom tried to instil in me for many years finally caught up to me.

--

--