Cookie Monster Under My Bed

Three times I gave up to Cookie Monster and once I resisted

Мaria Kriskovich
Mind | Body | Soul
3 min readMay 14, 2023

--

Cookie Monster. Source: livekindly.com

“Have this nice little cookie.” Cookie Monster whispered.

“I’m trying to give up on sweets.”

“Nah, you’re going to fail anyway.”

It was a sunny afternoon at the office. Despite telling my coworkers that I didn’t eat sweets, I suddenly found myself… chewing a red velvet cake.

“Where did it come from?” I asked while chewing.

“It’s my birthday.” My coworker Alex yelled.

I respected Alex. How could I resist?

“You’re going to fail.” Cookie Monster confidently repeated.

Three years into my office job, I decided to change tactics. If I don’t have anyone teasing me with sweets, Cookie Monster won’t find me.

So I became a remote employee of a proud startup. I never had sweets at home, so Cookie Monster couldn’t reach me.

Where was the catch?

I felt isolated, despite it being three years prior to COVID. As soon as I had a business trip to see my coworkers, guess who appeared?

“Have this one. Once a quarter. I won’t tell anyone.” Cookie Monster was back.

Even with coworkers all around me, I was still trying to isolate myself.

“You’re going to fail anyway.” Thanks, Cookie Monster, very supportive.

During the COVID lockdown, I went grocery shopping once a week.

“Buy ice cream. It’s going to be a long and sad week.” Reminded Cookie Monster.

Sometimes I would, and sometimes I resisted. But every time I closed my eyes to meditate and ease out of the lockdown…

“You want pistachio ice cream…”

Photo by STEVE JOYCE.

My mind was picturing this ice cream. A light green substance was dripping from the cone.

“Come on, you’re going to fail.”

Suddenly, something changed.

“OK. I will have it, but later.” I nodded. And Cookie Monster didn’t know how to respond.

So this was me a week ago, having a nice long walk.

“You want ice cream.” Whispers Cookie Monster.

“OK. I’ll wait till the next supermarket.” I responded.

My ice cream. Picture by the author.

This is how I question my mind:

Here’s the deal: If I still want the ice cream by the time I pass by the second shop, I’ll buy it. Ninety percent of the time, I won’t.

Cookie Monster was chasing me, and I thought I must have hidden from it. When I finally stopped and questioned my wishes, Cookie Monster turned into a soft toy. Now it’s just a memory.

“Where do you see yourself in five years?” Have you ever struggled with fitting into society?

--

--

Мaria Kriskovich
Mind | Body | Soul

Writer, traveler, B2B marketer and peaceful warrior. Read between the lines.