Yoga Miraculously Cured My Chronic Sinusitis

Goodbye Nasal Spray, Inhalers and Cough Drops

Prahalad Rajkumar
Mind | Body | Soul

--

Photo by Scott Broome on Unsplash

I fell sick all the time as a kid.

Every two months I would develop a throat or ear infection, and my doctor would put me on antibiotics. I know all the various antibiotics by heart — my doctor would prescribe a different family of antibiotics each time to evade bacteria resistance.

I bought the story that I was born with a fragile immune system. A variation of Samuel L. Jackson in Unbreakable. It never occurred to me to try and improve my immunity.

My Woes Continued When I Moved to the United States

In 2002, I moved from India to the United States for my undergraduate studies. I hoped that a change of place would bring a change of fortune to my health. This idea was quickly crushed. I continued to fall sick regularly.

I got into a vicious cycle. I needed antibiotics to cure my infections. Chronic use of antibiotics further weakened my immune system.

In India, nobody cared if someone next to them was sick. Not so in the United States. “How are you Prahalad”, my friend John greeted me when I saw him at a gathering. “Not so well John, I’m sick”, I responded. “Stay away from me”, he said, moving a step back…

--

--

Prahalad Rajkumar
Mind | Body | Soul

Top Writer in Books| Software Professional | Bridge Player | Interested in unique outlooks on life| Questioning the definitions society expects us to follow.