10 Things About Life I Wish I Knew 10 Years Ago

The lessons I learned the hard way.

Amardeep Parmar
Mind Cafe

--

Created by the author.

“Don’t listen to the Amardeep of the past, he was an idiot.”

A friend of mine recently asked me for advice and broke down her plan in detail. I threw lots of objections her way and suggested things she could do instead. Then she hit me with the killer; “This was your idea, you told me to do this a few months ago…”

Damn.

My face went red but I was also proud in a way. I’d given poor advice in the past but at least I could spot it in the present. I seem to have a remarkable ability to convince myself I have everything figured out only to look back a year later and realize I knew nothing at all.

This effect is even bigger in the longer term. I looked back to 10 years ago when I was an insecure 18-year-old trying desperately to seem like he had things under control. This is what I’d tell that scrawny kid.

#1. You’ll recover from missed opportunities.

At 18, I was one place off gaining admission to Cambridge University. For me, it was the end of the world, proof I wasn’t as smart as I thought I was. I snobbishly believed my life would never be as good as the one I missed out on.

--

--

Amardeep Parmar
Mind Cafe

Founder of The BAE HQ @amardeepbae + Host of Entrepreneur's Handbook ☆ I help the ambitious develop deep self awareness ☆ https://antiburnout.mindfuldriven.com