20 Short (And Easy) Habits to Read More (a Lot More) Books In 2023

Use the “5 before bed” rule

Thomas Oppong
Mind Cafe
Published in
5 min readDec 19, 2022

--

Artwork: Monk in White, Seated, Reading (1857) by Camille Corot

Reading is a dynamic and engaging habit that improves our knowledge and expands our understanding of the world. It can be a way to learn, escape, and share our experiences with others.

It’s a powerful tool that can help us find joy and live better lives. Once you learn to read, you will be forever free,” Frederick Douglass once said. Mortimer Adler was right when he said, “Reading is a basic tool in the living of a good life.”

Growing up, I was taught to read from left to right, top to bottom, one page at a time. As I got older and learned more, I discovered that this method was not the only way to read.

Instead, I found that reading can be adapted to the individual, their preferences, and their purpose for reading. I was surprised to learn that there are many different strategies to read effectively, each with their own benefits.

I also learned that, depending on the context, some strategies might be more effective than others. With an open mind, I began to explore the different ways to read and found new opportunities to enhance my comprehension and deepen my understanding. Here’s everything I know about reading to comprehend and stacking up knowledge for life.

--

--

Thomas Oppong
Mind Cafe

Making the wisdom of great thinkers instantly accessible. As seen on Forbes, Inc. and Business Insider. For my popular essays, go here: https://thomasoppong.com