20 Years from Now, the Only People Who Will Remember That You Worked Late Are Your Kids

“The graveyard is full of ‘irreplaceable’ and important people”

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe
Published in
4 min readJun 1, 2023

--

Photo by Derek Owens on Unsplash

There are rare moments when a hard truth stops you in your tracks.

The other day I read a Reddit post titled “20 Years from Now, the Only People Who Will Remember That You Worked Late Are Your Kids.”

I began to tear up. I instantly began to think of my 6 month old daughter. In her short life, as hard as it is to admit, I’ve definitely worked too hard.

I instantly thought of all the times I could have been playing with her, and instead, worked on my online business.

I told myself it was to fund her future but that doesn’t make it feel right.

Working late all becomes a blur after a while

Fenix replied on Reddit with this interesting thought:

I’ve missed so many birthdays, plays, and events for work, and I can’t even tell you why. I don’t remember what I was working on, I can’t tell you why it was important. But I can tell you how my not being there made my kids feel.

So he did all that hard work and the rewards are forgotten. He can’t even tell you what the…

--

--

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb