21 Questions for Assessing Your Own Level of Narcissism

We all think we’re the sh*t, one way or another. The question is how aware you are of this fact and what you do about it.

Soren Hottenstein
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Ichad Windhiagiri from Pexels

I’m a person that likes to confirm things, even if the information ends up hurting me. Sometimes, I end up regretting this. Recently I completed an online research study survey and the results had me experiencing a range and complexity of emotions I’ve never felt before.

It seemed like a standard, benign questionnaire. It wasn’t.

The first question asked:

“Are you narcissistic?”

Oh. Not expecting such a blunt question right off the bat, I was taken off guard. I did some quick mental assessments and picked a number that I felt was honest. Then I saw:

“Survey complete. Advance to the next screen.”

Hold on–

“You answered X which means you scored higher for narcissism than 95% of respondents. Thank you for your participation.”

What?

Okay, scientists, you got me. Sheesh! After some research into the project, I learned that they had discovered this single-question survey was far more accurate in predicting narcissistic…

--

--

Soren Hottenstein
Mind Cafe

Neurologically spicy nonbinary wordsmith & artist. Life is my playground. https://linktr.ee/sorenhottenstein