3 Fascinating Philosophical Thinkers Who Were Influenced by Psychedelics

And their main ideas that crushed my views on reality.

Alen Bašić
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Mulyadi on Unsplash

Psychedelic compounds like psilocybin, LSD, DMT, Mescaline, Ibogaine, have all been experiencing a resurrection in popularity over the years, particularly ‘Magic Mushrooms’ (psilocybin), with their legalization across various US states.

Having experiences with these myself, they produce all sorts of distorting visuals that break down the barriers of reality and transcendental mysticism.

It’s hard to look back at such an experience from an external perspective and think anything valuable can be achieved in this altered state. But some of the greatest thinkers, inventors, designers, artists, tech-entrepreneurs, and many more have credited a portion of their success to these mind-altering compounds. Here’s what Steve Jobs said on the matter:

“Taking LSD was a profound experience, one of the most important things in my life. LSD shows you that there’s another side to the coin, and you can’t remember it when it wears off, but you know it. It reinforced my sense of what was important — creating great things instead of making money, putting things back into the stream of history and of human consciousness as much as I could.”

--

--

Alen Bašić
Mind Cafe

Harnessing the skill of writing and storytelling to change my life. Join me on my journey of making life more purposeful https://theintrovertedthinker.carrd.co/