3 Meditation Techniques I’ve Learned From Buddhist Monks In Myanmar

And how I’ve integrated them into my everyday life.

Larisa B.
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by billow926 on Unsplash

Every time someone asks me about my one-year trip around Asia, I start with my experience in Myanmar, even though that wasn’t my first stop. I tell them about the dusty roads, breathtaking temples, and friendly people. By the time I get to the lessons I’ve learned, they’ve mentally bought a plane ticket.

You see, before arriving in Myanmar, I had already done four Vipassana meditation courses, and read many books on the subject. Were they helpful? Sure. I already had some basic understanding, so it was easy to have conversations with the Buddhist monks and nuns I’ve met during my trip.

However, they’ve all taught me things that I didn’t find in any books. They’ve talked about concepts, teachings, and meditation techniques I’ve never heard of before. And the simple fact that I was able to ask them all the questions I had was worth more than any meditation course I’ve attended in Europe.

While there are many experiences I want to share about the time I’ve spent in Myanmar, today I’ll walk you through some of the meditation techniques I’ve learned there. It’s been a year since my trip, and I’ve been constantly practicing all of them, so it’s safe to say I recommend you…

--

--