4 Big Lessons That Made Me a Better Risk Taker

Channel your inner 10-year-old.

Chris Wojcik
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Sammie Chaffin on Unsplash

For the last 20 months, I’ve been a kid's martial arts teacher.

I designed lesson plans, herded children like cattle, and worked hard to figure out the best ways to help tiny people learn Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

One of the biggest problems that my kid students have (and adults have this too) is timidity when it came time to spar or compete. Any time they had to perform under pressure, a lot of children would freeze up.

They, naturally, were scared to fail.

The problem is, doing well in martial arts (and life) requires you to be comfortable with the possibility of failure. Luckily for my students, this is something I have a lot of experience with.

Overcoming risk aversion was a hard skill for me to learn as an athlete, but doing so has helped me in every aspect of my life.

Over time, some of my students started to understand this lesson too.

Here are 4 big lessons that have helped me become a bold risk-taker in every aspect of my life.

Risk-taking is a volume game.

Children are particularly resilient to failure.

--

--