4 Hard Truths About Getting Older That Everyone Should Accept

A reflection and plan.

Sean Kernan
Mind Cafe

--

Editorial rights purchased via iStock Photos

The CD is now 40 years old.

If that doesn’t make some of you feel old, I don’t know what will.

Time is marching forward with or without us. Here are a few hard truths I’m coming to accept.

A reflection on our use of time

I was 16 on the last day I saw my grandmother.

We were leaving to fly back to California. We’d gone to church earlier that morning.

A few months later, my dad came in and had a heart-to-heart and said, “I don’t think your grandmother has much time left.”

I was surprised and said, “How do you know?

“She just hasn’t been well lately. She’s been in and out of the hospital.”

Less than 2 weeks later, she was gone. It was my first experience with loss.

I look back at old family photos and see such a different era of my life. My parents were robust and full of life (and very much still are):

Circa 1993

--

--

Sean Kernan
Mind Cafe

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.