4 Lessons on Happiness I Learned After Tracking My Mood For 6 Months

People think happiness is a goal, and that’s a problem.

Rachael Kable
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Matthew Henry from Burst

It all started when my partner said, “You’ve been more emotional than usual lately. Is everything okay?” And tears sprung into my eyes because I knew it was true, and honestly, it was such a relief to have it out in the open.

“Yeah, I’ve noticed that, too. I just don’t know why!”

So, I downloaded a mood tracking app to look closer at my moods and potentially find any helpful patterns that might explain my “emotional-ness.” While I don’t think there’s anything inherently wrong with being emotional, I wanted to understand why it was happening in case I could support myself better.

After six months of tracking my moods multiple times a day (using both a mood-tracking app and my written journal), I’m still unsure why my emotions have been heightened. Maybe, it’s the result of such an intense year in 2020 or the fact that I’ve been juggling extra work and taking less time to look after myself.

However, I’ve definitely learned some important things after tracking my emotions, including powerful lessons on happiness I’m excited to share with you.

Happiness Isn’t a “Goal” You…

--

--

Rachael Kable
Mind Cafe

Writer and hopelessly devoted reader - just ask my husband.