5 Essential Tips to Never Quit Journaling Again

How to fall in love with journaling over and over again.

Stephan Joppich
Mind Cafe

--

Image created on Canva

I started journaling about eight years ago. Back then, I was about to embark on an adventure as a foreign exchange student in the US.

A few weeks before I left, my best friend had a goodbye present for me: my very first journal. I flipped it open, and the scent of blank pages waiting to be filled with memories, lessons, and thoughts streamed toward me.

On the black hardcover, my friend had taped Uncle Sam. And so, every time I picked up the journal, he would point at me in his iconic posture — as if he was holding me accountable to record all the wonderful (or not so wonderful) experiences.

But I rarely did. I only halfheartedly scribbled some events into Uncle Sam’s blank intestines. Often months passed in between two entries. It’s something I deeply regret.

Today, I still have these dry periods. But they last shorter, and, more importantly, I have developed several tools to fall back in love with journaling over and over again.

Here are five of them. I hope they help you keep this life-changing practice for the rest of your life.

Make More Lists!

--

--

Stephan Joppich
Mind Cafe

Engineer turned philosophy student • I write about loneliness, transformative books, and other pseudo-deep stuff that keeps me up at night • stephanjoppich.com