5 Signs You’ve Just Met a Narcissist

And what to do if you can’t avoid them.

Eric Sangerma
Mind Cafe

--

Back in the day, I had a narcissistic college professor who caused me a lot of angst. We worked together on a project, and it was a lot of fun at first. He was the let’s-grab-a-beer-after-class type, not much older than me. It took me months to recognize his impact on my psyche.

He always made me feel like I wasn’t good enough at what we were working on. I wasn’t scared for my overall grade since this was an extracurricular project — but I dreaded his barbs and eye-rolling.

He also liked to talk shit about my coursemates. I agreed that most of them were dumbasses, but over time, all the gleeful, unprofessional gossiping made me wonder how he talked about me when I wasn’t around.

Dealing with a narcissist is fraught, especially when they’re in a position of power over you. It took me months, and a change of location, to get over the hit to my self-confidence.

Once you get into a workplace partnership or a personal relationship with a narcissist, it’s hard to get away. So let’s talk about some early warning signs to watch out for.

1. Narcissists are charming, magnetic… and obsessed with their own awesomeness.

--

--

Eric Sangerma
Mind Cafe

I Help Companies Excel and Individuals Thrive. I write about Mental Health, Relationships and Productivity. Follow me: https://www.linkedin.com/in/ericsangerma/