5 Things I Wish I Knew Before Becoming a Life Coach

Real talk for anyone who wants to be a coach

Liz Huber
Mind Cafe

--

My journey to becoming a coach began when I moved to Kuala Lumpur to work for a startup company. Being so far away from home turned out really great for me because it allowed me to build a completely new life. My old environment was no longer holding me back from becoming the best version of myself and thus, I finally started to work on a couple of personal goals I had previously been too busy for.

I started to work out regularly, learned to cook healthy, got into yoga and read tons of self-improvement books — and to carve out more time for all these activities, I learned how to optimize my productivity at work: I started to plan my week according to my most important objectives, blocked out the morning for deep work, avoided unnecessary meetings and optimized my diet for energy.

This allowed me to leave the office at 6:00 pm every day, even though everyone else in the office was staying until 10:00 pm, sometimes even later (because that’s what you do when you are working in a startup).

In the beginning, I got a lot of weird looks and the occasional comments like “Are you only working half-day today?” or “Are you going home early because it’s your birthday?”. What a f*cked up culture, I know!

--

--