5 Tiny Habits That Improved My Life

Implementing them will improve yours too

Kristina Segarra
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Michael Mims on Unsplash

When I was in my early 30s, I felt my absolute best. Less stress, more energy, and more life satisfaction. After I turned 40, I noticed a slight shift in my overall level of happiness. It was like a Grinch entered my life and stole my happiness.

As it turns out, there’s a ​U-shaped curve to happiness​. As we get older, we feel less happy and less satisfied with life than when we were younger. Call it evolution or the natural part of aging.

According to the U-shaped happiness curve, we’re happiest in our youth and old age. Our levels of happiness naturally decline in middle age, stay low in our 40s, and then increase again as we head into retirement.

So, as you get older, you may realize your life looks slightly different than when you were younger. You may have the added stress of parenting. Your children may be getting older. You may be caring for aging parents. More family obligations. Work and family responsibilities may put extra stress and pressure on you.

In our never-ending search for happiness, we look around every corner for advice to help us restore our happy state. And the thing is, there’s tons of advice out there on how to look better and feel happier. But not every piece of advice works for everyone.

--

--

Kristina Segarra
Mind Cafe

Freelance health/wellness/self-improvement writer, musician, mom of two boys. Join my newsletter: https://self-empowerment-club.ck.page/a9d23100d4