50 Very Short Rules for a Good Life From Buddhist Philosophy

Follow them and you’ll change your mind forever.

Julia Horvath
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Gerhard Lipold from Pexels

Buddhism is complicated. So are we.

Before I discovered this ancient philosophy I was impulsive and distressed. Negative events took me down into the abyss and my emotions controlled me.

I’m a worrier. While I enjoy the small spontaneities of everyday life, on bad days, uncertainty gets the best of me. If I don’t know what disaster hides down the road and how to prevent it can drive me into a hell ride of anxiety.

My inner world transformed gradually but radically in the past three years, as I dove deep into Buddhist philosophy. Serendipity introduced me to it as a tool to deal with pain.

Since then, I read about what the Buddha taught and follow contemporary teachers who interpret and help us apply his texts.

I meditate daily and even designed my solo custom 2-day meditation retreat at home.

Rest assured I’m still far from being a model Buddhist. Nor do I have to be. Rather, I learned life isn’t supposed to be easy or about me. I realized there’s a way to live with difficult emotions without drowning them in unhealthy distractions.

--

--

Julia Horvath
Mind Cafe

I run The Self-Letter: 1 weekly email with powerful ideas to help you get to know yourself better and cultivate self-awareness.💡✨ linktr.ee/juliho