A 3-Minute Hack for Focus You’ve Probably Never Heard Of

I use this technique when writing and it has helped me publish thousands of stories on the internet.

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe
Published in
3 min readMay 22, 2020

--

Image by jose fernandez from Pixabay

In 2016 a smart UX Designer shared a tip with me.

I asked her, “How did you sit down for four hours straight and finish that PowerPoint deck?”

Her answer was weird: “Binaural Beats.”

“What The F is that,” I said.

For the next few years I ignored her advice and went back to trying to be creative in complete silence without distractions. It was torture.

Achieving perfect silence is near impossible.

Level 1: Enter Binaural Beats

Sitting down and writing is hard for me. If I lose my attention then I find it difficult to get it back again.

Once I find a flow state, I want to stay there for the rest of the day while I write. Before discovering binaural beats, this was incredibly difficult.

What are binaural beats?

Binaural Beats is essentially music that repeats over and over. There is no actual beat, but instead a tone that is created in your brain as a result of two different frequencies being played at the same time.

--

--

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb